The Council

The Parish Council is the tier of local government after the District Council (our local Councillor is Angus Thompson) and the County Council. From May 2017, Angus became our County Councillor, too. The Parish Council comprises seven village residents who freely give their time to represent the interests of the village and work to improve quality of life and the local environment. They are advised and supported by the Parish Clerk.

The Parish Council is accountable to the residents of the Parish who are entitled and very welcome to attend Council meetings as 'observers'. Meetings are normally held on the second Thursday of each month. Please feel free to come and join us. Villagers can raise issues to be discussed at such meetings by contacting the Parish Clerk or one of the Council members at least one week before a meeting.


Due to the current Coronavirus pandemic, it is necessary for us to cancel all face-to-face meetings for the time being.

Parish Council meetings will be held virutally using the Zoom platform until further notice.

Members of the Press and public are welcome to join as Observers and details of how to access the virtual meetings can be obtained each month from the Parish Clerk.

Wash hands . Cover face . Make space